Shevchenko Prize: this year’s winners announced 2024

Officially announced, the winners of the National Taras Shevchenko Prize of Ukraine have been published. The corresponding decree with the laureates of 2024 was published on the President’s website.

The National Taras Shevchenko Prize of Ukraine this year is awarded to:

  • Jamala for the album “Qirim”
  • Artist Andriy Yermolenko for the series of art works “Ukrainian resistance”
  • Poet Dmytro Lazutkin for the poetry book “Zakladka”
  • Journalists Yevhen Maloletka, Mstyslav Chernov, Vasilisa Stepanenko for the series of journalistic materials about the siege of Mariupol (reports, photos and videos, investigations, and the film “20 days in Mariupol”)
  • Composer Carmella Tsepkolenko for cantatas “Reading history” based on poetry by Oksana Zabuzhko, “Where did you come from, black flock of birds?” based on poetry by Serhiy Zhadan, Duel-Duet for violin and double bass, Symphony No. 5
  • Poetess Yaryna Chornohuz for the poetry book “[dasein: presence defense]”
  • Director Ivan Uryvsky, stage designer Tetiana Ovsiiuk, choir master Susanna Karpenko for the performance “Конотопська відьма” based on the story by Hryhoriy Kvitka-Osnovyanenko at the National Academic Ivan Franko Drama Theatre.

This year, the amount of the Shevchenko Prize is 429,000 hryvnias. The award ceremony for the laureates took place at the Ivan Franko Theatre. President Volodymyr Zelensky noted that during the war, culture has even more significance than in times of peace.

Comments are closed.

More in:Culture